Game Design – Week 10 – GTD – Getting Things Done – Part 2

Teens are overwhelmed, partly because they don’t yet have the skills to manage the unprecedented amount of stuff that enters their brains each day.  – from LifeHacker.com

“Your mind is for having ideas, not holding them.”

“You can do anything, but not everything.”

― David Allen, (GTD) Getting Things Done for Teens: Take Control of Your Life in a Distracting World

SUMMARY

  • I have gotten a few things done this week, not much though sadly.

PRACTICE ROOM (TUTORIALS)

Unity – C#

CLASSROOM (THEORY & ANALYSIS)

Screenshot from Animated Book Summary And Review at YouTube

You are going to learn to develop your own version of David Allen’s Getting Things Done (GTD) process in this ‘room.’

  • The Getting Things Done process can be really effective if you apply it well to yourself. For me personally my GTD process would be to process my school work first and then anything else that needs to be done. For school work I put them in by the date they were assigned so that I can work on them in some semblance of order.

LAB (THEORY PRACTICED)

Screenshot of David Allen TED Talk
Screenshot of David Allen TED Talk
Screenshot from Animated Book Summary And Review at YouTube

Examine Two GTD Maps: Basic and Detailed

  1. Detailed map by guccio@文房具社 icensed under CC BY-NC 2.0
  2. Basic map from BiggerPlate.com embedded below

GTD-based Trusted System

Image from Trello.com

OUTSIDE (PRODUCTIVITY & THE BRAIN)

  • Go for a 15-minute walk, if it is safe to do so  and follow the advice from David Allen

OPTIONAL EXERCISE

STUDIO (CREATING MAPS)

  • Just WRITE STUFF DOWN
  • Decide the ACTIONS and OUTCOMES embedded in them
  • Get yourself a MAP OF ALL THAT so you can step back and take a look at it.
  • And then, basically, you USE THE MAP TO DECIDE, “OK, here’s the course that we’re going to go on.”
  • You then LAUNCH the ‘ship’ on a trusted course in the short term, as well as on the long horizon that you’re moving on.
  • And then, on a regular basis, you need to REASSESS, “OK, we need to take in NEW DATA, CLEANUP, RECALIBRATE, and REFOCUS for the next leg of the journey.”
  • ‘Capture’ all the ACTION ITEMS you can in your GTD Trusted System

WHAT I LEARNED and PROBLEMS I SOLVED

  • I learned of a new way to deal with my problems. The GTD system helps me get things down and out of my head so that it is less to remember.
  • I have solved for the most part my problem of being overwhelmed by all the things I have to do and the things I haven’t done yet.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *